Equality Legislation

The Equality Act 2010 brings together all the legal requirements on equality that the Private, Public and Third (or Voluntary) Sector needs to follow. It covers equality in the delivery of a wide variety of services and includes the running of clubs.  Most of the Equality Act 2010 pulls together, builds on and strengthens previous equality legislation such as the Disability Discrimination Act 1995 and the Sex Discrimination Act 1975.

The key message underpinning the Equality Act 2010 is that everyone has the right to be treated fairly – whether at work as an employee or when they are accessing a service. The legislation protects people from discrimination and harassment on the basis of nine characteristics:-

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Sex
  4. Gender Reassignment
  5. Marriage or civil partnership
  6. Pregnancy and maternity
  7. Race
  8. Religion or belief
  9. Sexual orientation

Each of these nine characteristics protect people from discrimination in the workplace as employees and the majoirty also protect people as users of services.
The Equality Act 2010 sets out the types of discrimination and harassment which are prohibited in relation to the nine characteristics and their areas of enforcement. 

Other Community Toolkit Topics to look at:

Further sources of information

We are always interested in your views and experience of using the Community Toolkit. If you have any feedback or questions please complete our Feedback Form

The Community Toolkit is owned and maintained by Skye and Lochalsh CVO Conditions of Use
Last Updated 05/02/2013 14:45